Disneyland 2k17 Day 3: I wish this cold sore would just GO AWAY

So uh, looks like I slipped, again, yesterday, that was the day I slipped. My excuse is that it was a long day of Disneyland’ing and traveling. But I’m here to post now so yippee!

Alright, so yesterday morning I woke up feeling mostly better – turns out my father and sister had gotten sick as well though! Bleh. At any rate I continued getting up – got myself some juice, took some painkillers, went to head over to eat cereal and then suddenly I was lying on the bed. Wasn’t quite as ready as I thought. So after a bit more of that and a bit more of playing my 3DS, I did get up in time for me to eat breakfast and the like before we had to evacuate the hotel room (my sister and mom were staying for a few more days, so we just needed to shove the luggage over there and then bring it with us on the airplane later).

I then went out into the park to do the last event I really needed to do by during this trip: meet Moana. So I headed over to Adventureland where she hung out, but I had to wait for a bit because my mom wanted to be my photographer and she wasn’t out yet. So I sat out for a while, enjoying the rain (I was still kinda sick, still got that fever, so I was actually sweating in the cold rainy weather, believe it or don’t) and just sitting there. Eventually it got a bit too much so I hid in a nearby shop.

My mom completed her ride on Snow White, Moana arrived, and we were in line to meet her! Huzzah!

img_0015
Pictured: An awkward teenager and a girl who lost her grandmother.

She said she liked my shirt because it reminded her of the flowers on her island – she said I should visit (trust me, I’d love to!). Surprised she didn’t comment on my hair though.

Seriously though, Moana is gorgeous! So glad I got to meet her!

After that we headed over to Starbucks to have a snack and take refuge from the rain (if it wasn’t raining we would’ve gone to Jolly!). It was hecka crowded, we were lucky to find any table at all, heh. I enjoyed a nice apple juice beverage while my brother got a hot chocolate (it’s a good thing I didn’t get it, probably wouldn’t have tasted good to me with the then-current state of my taste buds).

I then went with my dad to hit a bunch of the dark rides. Dark rides is a term used to refer to four rides behind Sleeping Beauty Castle that have been there since the park opened and all take place in the dark, consist mostly of practical effects, run single cars rather than long trains, and are all short rides (about 2 minutes long). The four dark rides are Snow White’s Scary Adventures, Pinocchio’s Daring Journey, Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride, and Peter Pan’s Flight. My brother also likes to refer to Alice in Wonderland as a dark ride, but it… technically isn’t. Uh wait I just looked it up and it turns out I’m a LIAR! Pinocchio’s Daring Journey wasn’t there the day the park opened! All the other three were though. So I guess it’s a dark ride since it’s just right there next to the others? But so is Alice… Hmm, I’ll have to get back to you on this.

Anyways, we went on Snow White’s Scary Adventures, or as I like to call it, Snow White and the Seven Hags. Seriously. There are SO many hags on that ride! And by “so many” I mean five. That’s still a ludicrous amount! That’s more times than any other character shows up! What’s the big deal with her anyways?! Anyways, it’s a ride, can be a little spooky for young’uns (all of those HAGS, also the forest is SUPER creepy, no wonder my sister was scarred as a kid), but it’s fun enough. Also has a turtle, so that automatically makes it awesome. Fun fact: The apple the queen holds is a hologram! Not because they wanted to use new technology or update the ride, oh no – it’s because it was the most popular free souvenir to take from the park! Kids please don’t steal it’s illegal.

We then went on Pinocchio’s Daring Journey. This one is also a little spooky, but also just a lot more weird in my brain-mind memory database thing. I dunno. Might just be because the movie’s kinda weird to me. This ride uses holograms too, actually – it’s how they do the blue fairy trick at the end! Less significant since this ride was added later, heh. Keep an eye out for the Hidden Mickey by the popcorn cart.

Next up was Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride! This one is much more wild and fast than the other two. The other two are creepy, this one is, well, a wild ride! You even end up going to hell! It has some hard-to-spot Hidden Mickeys and it’s really fun. Unless you’re afraid of getting hit by trains. This ride has the second-longest line of the dark rides (Pinocchio and Snow White are usually about the same length) – when I went on the wait was about 30 minutes, which is about average (as long as you’re not going when it’s super crowded).

We then went to parkhop since my mom got my dad a pass for Soarin’ over California, since he wanted to try it again. So I called up my ol’ buddy my pal my brother to be my partner on Midway Mania as I used up the Universal Fastpass I got yesterday. Midway Mania is really fun. The games are challenging, the designs are neat, and it’s not impossible to aim like Astro Blasters! Ha! There’s also a really clever Hidden Mickey in one of the levels. In the end we both got Beaver level with both of us landing between 100k and 130k points (he beat me, both in points and accuracy) and he headed off to California Screamin’ and I headed off to do a round of Radiator Springs Racers.

I also highly recommend Radiator Springs Racers – the ride does a really good job of getting the feel of Radiator Springs down, the animatronics are great, and the end racing part is really fun! Doesn’t hurt that I won the race this round. >:3c Uh, but if you are going to do it, and you’re okay with being split up from your party, do single rider. The stand-by wait line is waaay too long to bother with.

img_0019
Uh, I suppose you could now use that number to purchase this photo of me on the ride. If… if you really want to spend your money on that, go ahead. It’s kinda creepy but… I can’t really stop you.

I then parkhopped back over to the Magic Kingdom and entered the Alice in Wonderland ride. My mom joined me in line, and soon we were on a caterpillar heading into Wonderland.

A few years ago they added little updates here and there to the ride, and boy do they add up! It’s mostly just a lot of little screens everywhere to add some animations, but they don’t feel tacky or out of place – heck, they often blend right in! It just makes the ride look that much better. As a sidenote, near the end of the ride I mentioned that the ride broke down when I was right in front of the whistling teapots near the end to my mom – and then the ride seemed to slow down for a bit, right in front of the whistling teapots. I almost thought history was going to repeat itself and I was going to have to walk through the mad tea party again! It didn’t though, thank goodness.

The two of us then went over to the ride with the worst wait-time to ride-length ratio: Peter Pan’s Flight. The line is consistently around 40 minutes, while the ride is only about 2. It’s definitely the most popular out of the dark rides. So after waiting for a while and my brother joining the two of us, we rode a flying pirate ship and we went to Neverland.

Like Alice in Wonderland, they also updated this ride a fair amount. It also helps a lot here, but the change I personally dislike is the new London-flying layout, since the Big Ben Hidden Mickey is a little less hidden now. Oh well. The ride continues to look amazing, even though it is short. I recommend it if you have a large chunk of time to wait in line or if you’re prepared to gate-crash.

After that my brother and I each got a popcorn container from our mom (thank you for indulging our bad habits), left the park, had dinner, packed up our belongings, got in an Uber, spent two hours doing nothing at the airport (we’re much more used to the constant busy stream SFO is – meanwhile, this ride was more of a “walk-on”), rode the airplane, took another Uber home, said hello to our cats, and went to sleep.

Then I had to get up today to get to school. Bleh!

So that’s pretty much what happened. My sister and mom are still in Disneyland (my sister was actually so sick that she threw up last night – hope you get well soon sis!), but my dad, my brother, and I are back home and back into the swing of things. Going back to civilization after Disneyland can be rough, man.

Anyways that’s about it from me! We’ll see what I talk about tomorrow, heh. (I mean, it’s probably going to be about the BIG THING that happened in the Poptropica fandom, but hey you never know!)

-Ylimegirl

Author: Ylimegirl

Heyo, I'm Ylime/Emily, a wiki-editor and ex-author for the PHB. I enjoy watching cartoons and playing Pokéfarm Q, among other things. How to pronounce Ylime: • /i.laɪm/ (ee-lime): My preference • /waɪ.laɪm/ (why-lime): UiPE's, SF, and PC's preference • /i.lɪm.i/ (ee-lim-ee): BT's preference • /jʌ.laɪm/ (yuh-lime): Andrew's preference • /jʌ.laɪm.i/ (yuh-lime-ee): Lucky Joker's preference • /i.lɪm.ɛ/ (ee-lim-eh): True backwards™ • /waɪ ɛl aɪ ɛm i/ (why el aye em ee): True pronounciation™ • /jaɪm.li/ (yime-lee): Someone on the PHC's preference • /jɒr.laɪm/ (your-lime): TylerMaster's preference • /jɑː.laɪm/(ya-lime): Ashtonirwin's preference • /laɪm/ (lime): Red Burger's preference; TTS generated • /i.lim/ (ee-leem): Perfect Sky's preference; TTS generated • /aɪ.lɪm/ (aye-lim): TTS generated • /i.lɪm/ (ee-lim): TTS generated • /ɛ.laɪm/ (eh-lime): TTS generated (Maybe more!) I might be a robot. My profile picture is by the lovely Noveen!

Leave a Reply

