Christmas, Hanukkah, and Popularity: I’M FINALLY FREE!!!

I’M FREE! I’M FREE! I’M FINALLY DONE! I’M HECKA IN THE HOLIDAY SPIRIT IT MAY BE COLD OUTSIDE BUT I WANT TO SPRINT OVER TO MY LOCAL STARBUCKS AND GET MYSELF AN EGGNOG FRAPPUCINO! Hmm, come to think of it, my brother does owe me three fraps. But they’re all for caramel ones, aren’t they. Bet I could exchange one for an eggnog one, though. I AM SO PUMPED FOR THE HOLIDAYS YEEHAW

Alright, time to calm down. I’ve got lots of time to enjoy the holidays, Christmas isn’t even for over a week, calm down.

Alright, I ended last post saying I meant to talk about popularity and holidays, but didn’t since I just talked a lot about DCSHG instead. So, time to talk about these topics today, yeehaw!

Hmm, I realize I’ve just used yeehaw twice in one post. Am I becoming a cowboy? I’ll have to come back to y’all on that one.

So, holidays. As a family we celebrate Christmas around December, because that’s what my parents celebrated as kids, since my dad is Catholic and my mom is… well, her family is… well, they don’t actively practice anything, I suppose? But they have some sort of Christian roots. (Look, I don’t know my types of Christianity, I just know there’s a lot, if the options on the PSAT are anything to go by.)

So, my family celebrates Christmas. We really celebrate Christmas. We definitely have the most decorations for Christmas, we have the most traditions around Christmas, and we’re always playing Christmas music. Well, there isn’t any playing right now, since my parents aren’t home, but there usually is.

So basically, I really love Christmas, and our family really loves Christmas, at least the version unrelated to Christianity and more related to this consumerist culture we now live in.

Where was I going with this? Ah yes, I wanted to talk about how the Lrig family celebrates Christmas.

So, the day after Thanksgiving, it all begins! We assemble the artificial tree that has been out of its warranty for 14 years and string the LED lights on it. We also put our angel (that my sister named Hannuke Suzannah for some reason) at the top. My brother also builds a LEGO train layout that goes around the tree. One year we actually had three layouts going around the tree – a LEGO one, a DUPLO one, and a Disneyland Monorail. We ended up destroying some of the tracks on Christmas morning, heh.

We also assemble a Christmas village using various models we’ve gotten over the years, along with a LEGO one made up of the various LEGO winter sets they’ve released over the years. Outside we put up light-up snowflakes, meteor lights, and a light-up reindeer that replaces the two we used to have that got thrashed by some dumb teenagers while we were away at Disneyland. (Brats.) And at some point we decorate the tree with ornaments ranging a heck of a lot in aesthetic, age, and general classiness.

Of course, that’s all before we get actually into the month of Holidaycember. That’s when we get our chocolate advent calendars, and then just kind of enjoy the spirit leading up until we get out of school. Once school’s out (like what finally happened today!), we ramp it up to eleven.

We have an annual “Cookie Party” with our grandma and cousin, where we just have lunch, eat cookies and ice cream, and play blackjack. We also watch a heck of a lot of Christmas specials and movies over the next few days. We also start making beaded snowflakes, which is where we take a snowflake wire frame, and put beads on it in nice beautiful great way that looks very nice and pretty.

I think I’ll wait to talk about what we do on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day until we reach those days though. While here though, I’d also like to talk about how we also celebrate a night of Hanukkah with our aforementioned cousin. You see, my mom’s sister converted to Judaism when she married my uncle, and now he gets to celebrate both Christmas and Hanukkah. Hanukkah is actually a pretty cool holiday, I think everybody should get to experience holidays from different cultures.

So we go over to their house, play a bit of dreidel, talk a bunch, I sit awkwardly over in the corner trying to calm my social anxiety, the usual. Me and my siblings also each get to light a menorah and only panic a little bit about the fire. And then we have the dinner, where I refrain from eating anything other than a hot dog because I’m super picky, heh. Though we never say they have to, they always get us little Hanukkah presents. Kind of like my mom says for my grandmother to only get us one present, but she always ends up getting us three plus some (kind of “eh”) gifts given at the Cookie Party.

Well now that I’ve finished talking about my own life which is probably boring to 100% of all of you reading, time to talk about my views on popularity.

Now, this may just be because I have no friends, but popularity hasn’t been something I’ve really ever worried about. I mean, it’s nice to be liked by lots of people, but it’s not that big of a deal, is it? I dunno though. I’m not going to lie, I do obsess over the numbers a little bit when it comes to how I’m doing on things. In the end though, it’s just kind of a bonus to me if lots of people like my content – I like making the content, so I’ll keep making it.

Popularity can be kind of toxic, though. The people who are popular can control an entire group of people just because of the fact that so many people liked them at the start – honestly, when this happens, there’s not much room for debate or differences in opinion. That’s just how I see it though.

I think that’s about it from me. I need to eat lunch and go get an eggnog Frappucino, I think. 😉

-Ylimegirl

P.S. I just realized I typed this entire post out as a draft for a page?? What the heck @me

Author: Ylimegirl

Heyo, I'm Ylime/Emily, a wiki-editor and ex-author for the PHB. I enjoy watching cartoons and playing Pokéfarm Q, among other things. How to pronounce Ylime: • /i.laɪm/ (ee-lime): My preference • /waɪ.laɪm/ (why-lime): UiPE's, SF, and PC's preference • /i.lɪm.i/ (ee-lim-ee): BT's preference • /jʌ.laɪm/ (yuh-lime): Andrew's preference • /jʌ.laɪm.i/ (yuh-lime-ee): Lucky Joker's preference • /i.lɪm.ɛ/ (ee-lim-eh): True backwards™ • /waɪ ɛl aɪ ɛm i/ (why el aye em ee): True pronounciation™ • /jaɪm.li/ (yime-lee): Someone on the PHC's preference • /jɒr.laɪm/ (your-lime): TylerMaster's preference • /jɑː.laɪm/(ya-lime): Ashtonirwin's preference • /laɪm/ (lime): Red Burger's preference; TTS generated • /i.lim/ (ee-leem): Perfect Sky's preference; TTS generated • /aɪ.lɪm/ (aye-lim): TTS generated • /i.lɪm/ (ee-lim): TTS generated • /ɛ.laɪm/ (eh-lime): TTS generated (Maybe more!) I might be a robot. My profile picture is by the lovely Noveen!

Leave a Reply

