DC Super Hero Girls: A post that’s me getting really excited over a franchise

Last night, while going through my friend list, I saw something that made me very happy. It was a LEGO DC Super Hero Girls Advertisement! Buckle up kids, since I’m going to be screaming about this for a while today.

screenshot-2016-12-14-at-10-13-10-pm
Featuring BT, Joshua, Taitoki, Fishy, Slippery, Syd, and my friend who hasn’t played since 2011.

Alright, let’s talk comics and superheroes real quick. Spoiler alert: I really love superheroes. I especially love teenage superheroes. Like, seriously. Most of the cartoons I watch is all superhero stuff. The DCAU is my jam, I’m so pumped for the LEGO Batman movie, and I need more Static Shock in my life. Sidenote: I’ve tried to read some of the comics, but I have mostly no idea where to start since there’s like almost a century of comics, ahahahahah, help.

Alright so I was planning to do a thing where I went through the most popular female characters in comics based off of their category set up, but it turns out they deactivated that for the DC wiki, weak. (Interesting note: why do we have to have subcategories for love interests? It’s almost like the females are just there to… oh. That’s some unfortunate implications.) It’s there on the Marvel wiki though, so I’m gonna real quick go through the top 8 characters there. Let’s see…

screenshot-2016-12-15-at-10-58-59-am

So we’ve got Elizabeth Allen, which, according to the first paragraph of her page, her character is that she’s a “love interest”. Nice. Then there’s Daisy Johnson. Pretty sure she’s up there because of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Then we’ve got Hope Summers, adoptive daughter of an X-Man, Wanda Wilson, the genderbent version of Deadpool, Raven Darkholme (Mystique), whose page image is a pinup, Doreen Green, whose Squirrel Girl and therefore perfect, Satana Hellstrom, who’s got one heck of a chest window, and Lorna Dane, who seems to exist. At any rate, my point is this: looking at these characters, at least half of them all seem to exist for some sort of male gaze and not for their own merit. I mean, you’re welcome to disagree with me, but there’s absolutely no reason for that picture to be Mystique’s page image. I mean really. If you feel like comparing with the Male Characters category, you get six superheroes, a villain, and some guy.

Hang on, gotta back up this argument more! Time to search google images for “female superhero”.

screenshot-2016-12-15-at-11-07-28-am

Alright. Let’s tally it up: five boob shots and ten needlessly pin-upy images. So, if you haven’t gathered by now, the trend seems to be female superheroes tend to be needlessly, erm, “sexy-ified” and tend to be completely useless if you want to actually fight bad guys without having a wardrobe malfunction. Shoutout to those images of Captain Marvel I’m seeing up there though. Dishonorable mention to that image of Power Girl though. I mean, really. Trust me, the next few pages of this don’t get any better.

Alright, let’s take a look at the DC Super Hero Girls. Hey, there’s an image of them in the search! Awesome.

dc_super_hero_girls_5537ee21c01bd1-39734216-0

Let’s take a look at the costumes. See any midriffs? Nah. See any boob shots? Nah. Any needlessly tight spandex outfits? Heck nah. Pin-upy poses? No way! See, for so long, boys have had Batman to look up to, and girls have had a woman in an armored bathing suit to look up to (I’m sorry, I mean Wonder Woman. My bad.) Basically, DC Super Hero Girls is a cute new reboot of the series aimed for younger girls, where everyone’s going through hero training in high school, heroes and villains. Notably, Batman and Superman are out of the picture – they graduated years ago. The episodes just consist of them goofing around with powers, and the TV specials that air are based on them fighting villains. All of the characters are so much more than just “oh hey, here’s a girl for the boy to fall in love with”. Not to mention they’re releasing tons of awesome merchandise for this, with both dolls and action figures being released. I’ve already got a Batgirl action figure, look at how awesome it is!

match
Look, our hoods match and everything. Hee.

They’re super articulated and designed to be played with, like really played with. Like the toys boys get, the ones that you can throw across the room and bring outside in the rain and into the pool and not worry about the hair being frazzled beyond all reason now.

Anyways, back to the advertisement, let’s look at what’s available for LEGO DC Super Hero Girls!

screenshot-2016-12-15-at-11-23-25-am

Look at them. They’re gorgeous and beautiful and they made a custom mold for Harley Quinn’s legs and they look like they’re ready to kick Lex Luthor’s butt and then go out for smoothies, because hey who doesn’t like smoothies.

Unfortunately, there’s not much to the site yet. The sets they have ready for release look amazing, though, and it’s too bad my Christmas List is already set in stone, I’d totally love to get these under the tree. I think I know what store I’m headed to after Christmas, though. 😛

I’d like to mention that in the webisodes, they got the voice actors for Cyborg, Beast Boy, and Starfire from the original Teen Titans show, so if you want to see them not horribly slandered like they are in other recent media, check out some of the episodes. And feel free to explore the website, or the wiki I work on. Support this endeavor by a major company to try and add some good representation for young girls, we need more of this. I know I would have loved this when I was a kid because I still am a kid at heart and I love them now. If you know any young girls or heck if you are a young girl feel free to look into getting these for the holidays or your birthday or just whenever, they’re just the best.

(#NotSponsored, in case you were worried. I just really love things a lot)

I think I was going to talk about other things today, but I feel like this is enough of a post on it’s own. Guess I’ll talk about popularity and holidays tomorrow, whoops.

-Ylimegirl

Author: Ylimegirl

Heyo, I'm Ylime/Emily, a wiki-editor and ex-author for the PHB. I enjoy watching cartoons and playing Pokéfarm Q, among other things. How to pronounce Ylime: • /i.laɪm/ (ee-lime): My preference • /waɪ.laɪm/ (why-lime): UiPE's, SF, and PC's preference • /i.lɪm.i/ (ee-lim-ee): BT's preference • /jʌ.laɪm/ (yuh-lime): Andrew's preference • /jʌ.laɪm.i/ (yuh-lime-ee): Lucky Joker's preference • /i.lɪm.ɛ/ (ee-lim-eh): True backwards™ • /waɪ ɛl aɪ ɛm i/ (why el aye em ee): True pronounciation™ • /jaɪm.li/ (yime-lee): Someone on the PHC's preference • /jɒr.laɪm/ (your-lime): TylerMaster's preference • /jɑː.laɪm/(ya-lime): Ashtonirwin's preference • /laɪm/ (lime): Red Burger's preference; TTS generated • /i.lim/ (ee-leem): Perfect Sky's preference; TTS generated • /aɪ.lɪm/ (aye-lim): TTS generated • /i.lɪm/ (ee-lim): TTS generated • /ɛ.laɪm/ (eh-lime): TTS generated (Maybe more!) I might be a robot. My profile picture is by the lovely Noveen!

Leave a Reply

