Early Islands Make Me Annoyed: Another long one about anachronism and problems

Yesterday was a fine start to this mediocre blog! Good job me! Too bad I wasn’t sure what to do next. I’m a professional, I have no idea what I’m doing. Anyways, today I decided to go too far in and decide to try and figure out time periods for islands. Time to pull up ye olde island list from the Poptropica Wikia Wiki and dive in!

Let’s start from newest island first because those earlier ones, oh wow those are going to be hard. Monkey Wrench Island, Escape From Pelican Rock, and Timmy Failure all take place in modern times, with MW taking place somewhere in the tropics, EFPR taking place near San Francisco Bay, and TF someplace in the US. Better check the wiki. Oh wow, we’ve got Joey Nigro on there. Wonderful! Let’s see if I can figure this out anyways. … Nope, this wiki’s woefully empty. A shame. Well, it’s an advertisement island anyways, so whatever.

Mystery of the Map features kids from the present going to the time of Erik the Red, which according to Wikipedia (don’t cite it for homework) was in the 900s, or the 10th century, AKA a really long time ago. Like, a millennium ago. Yowzers. Our band of three kids seem to come from somewhere in the US, and Erik the Red came from Norway and established the first Viking settlement in Greenland. So, one of those two places works.

Galactic Hot Dogs… is a mess. At any rate, based on the Galactic Hot Dogs books (I read the first two for free on the GHD website, not worth it), takes place in present times, but in space.

Arabian Nights is loosely based off of the tales of One Thousand and One Nights, specifically the tales of Ali Baba. The stories take place a lo-ong time ago as well, and seem to have first been written down in around the 10th century.

PoptropiCon, Mission Atlantis, and Survival all take place in modern times as well. PoptropiCon takes place in Poptropica’s version of Hollywood, as you can see the back of a Queequeg’s sign seen in Back Lot Island in Episode 1. Mission Atlantis takes place somewhere on the ocean near the mythical city of Atlantis, which has often been said to lie in the Atlantic Ocean, among other locations. Look, it’s a (probably) fake city, we don’t actually know. Survival probably takes place in the American Northwest. Probably. I mean I’m not a wildlife expert but I think those kinds of wildlife live there, right?

Monster Carnival likely takes place in the mid-20th century. I want to say it’s around the 1960’s, based on the clothing the citizens wear and the weird messages about reverse-racism and whatever. Honestly, I’m with Criaha on this: give Ringmaster Raven a happy ending

Mocktropica is definitely takes place in modern times, with it taking place around Poptropica headquarters, which I’m 87% sure is somewhere in California. Virus Hunter Island also takes place in modern times, but I don’t really know where but it’s in a city in the US somewhere, I dunno. I’m very bad at remembering stuff from this island since I spent more time trying to fix all the glitches then enjoy the atmosphere. Also it kind of blurs with Zomberry in my mind a little for some reason, I’m not really sure why.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Island takes place in England somewhere, probably in the 1960’s (when the book was published). This is another island I forget easily. I have no idea why.

Super Villain Island takes place in modern times, I think? Look, there’s a lot of anachronisms in this island with how the villains get here and there and what is Zeus doing and BLEH, why am I doing this mess again I don’t know what I’m doing what was the point of this Send Help

Lunar Colony definitely takes place in modern times, with it being both in Florida and on the moon. Wimpy Boardwalk takes place somewhere on a beach in modern times that nobody cares about, and Poptropolis Games takes place in modern times after it comes up again after 1000 years. Twisted Thicket takes place in modern times as well, somewhere on the Scandinavian peninsula. Not sure what language those signs on main street are, but if I did know or bothered to figure it out I’m sure we could solve that mystery. But I’m too lazy to do that so here we are

Vampire’s Curse Island takes place in eastern Europe, probably during the middle ages. S.O.S Island takes place during modern times somewhere in the northern Atlantic, which I assume is the case since it’s based on the real life Titanic which sank somewhere around there. Ghost Story Island’s timeframe is a mess, check out my screaming about it over on yesterday’s post, but it definitely takes place in New England.

Game Show Island takes place during the future after the inventor messed up in modern times, and it takes place all over the world, dawg. I don’t know why I just used dawg, it seemed appropriate. Mystery Train takes place before the first Chicago World’s Fair, which took place in 1893, and, well, in Chicago.

I just realized I’m about halfway there. I can do this, I’m awesome, let’s not mess this up! Shrink Ray Island takes place in modern times, and I want to say somewhere on the east coast. Red Dragon Island takes place in Pennsylvania at the beginning and Japan in the Edo period (1603 – 1868) for the rest of it. Sometimes I forget this one is an sponsored island, it’s a pretty fun ride. I love trying to ninja. Try being the operative word.

Wimpy Wonderland takes place in modern times somewhere else we don’t care about, and Wild West Island takes place in the midwestern United States in the, well, wild west, which according to Wikipedia (again don’t cite this for class) took place during the latter half of the 19th century (1800’s).

Cryptids Island takes place during modern times, with Main Street being somewhere on the east coast (I think) and the rest taking place at various places around the globe. Great Pumpkin Island takes place during modern times or a little before that, whenever the Peanuts comic strips take place. I’m pretty sure it’s also on the east coast.

In case you weren’t sure by now I mostly have no idea what I’m saying.

Steamworks Island is based off of the Steampunk subgenre, which typically takes place in the 19th century. I personally like to believe that it takes place on an artificial island, but it probably takes place somewhere in Europe. Skullduggery Island takes place during the “golden age” of piracy, which takes place at some point between the 1650’s and 1730’s, and takes place probably around eastern Asia, based off of the different smaller islands based off of different cultures.

Mythology Island takes place during ancient Greece, which was around a while ago, aka 5th century BCE to 7th century CE. And, of course, it takes place in Greece. Reality TV Island is another modern island taking place in some poor run-down town that I want to say is in the midwest. Counterfeit Island takes place in modern times as well, but in France.

Astro Knights Island takes place at some point during a (highly-fictionalized) version of the medieval era, which lasted from the 5th to 15th century. Big Nate Island takes place during modern times, and based off of the various Big Nate comic books/strips I’ve read, definitely is somewhere in New England.

Nabooti Island, and island I almost often completely forget is a sponsored island, takes place all over Africa in modern times. And now we get to the harder ones! Spy Island takes place during modern times in some weird place where it’s always night, but likely somewhere in the US. Super Power Island is also another modern-day one that takes place somewhere vague, probably also the United States.

24 Carrot Island… oh boy. Um. Huh. I’m not really sure. Probably during the 20th century, probably somewhere in the midwest. Time Tangled Island, well, it’s time period and location is Yes. Shark Tooth Island is probably another modern one, probably somewhere in the tropics. And Early Poptropica… Um. Wow I hate these earlier islands. Can we just ignore this island? I don’t even want to get started on the “first settlers” or whatever. It’s just a mess.

Well, I’m not sure what the point of that post was. All I know is that it was something to do during brunch when I was bored. Maybe I’ll set up a timeline later? Not today though. Today, I need to end this post and put more announcements down here!

So, I’m thinking of maybe holding a party or livestream or something in the near future? Who knows. I might stream me dinking around on the earlier islands as fast as quickly, or we can look at how stupid the latest Barbie Puppy Movie is, since I’m inevitably getting it for Christmas, or we can all watch a holiday special together. All sorts of ideas! I like you guys, I want to interact with you guys. You’re nice people! (Except for you. I don’t like you. You know who you are.) Anyways, on Thursday I’ll be home for most of the day, so feel free to bother me that day. Also, should I make a separate server for this blog? I’m still not entirely sure what I’m doing, ha. I ramble a lot, mostly.

Anyways, I’m very bad at coming up with post ideas, so if you guys ever have ideas, feel free to leave them in the comments below. I won’t mind. I’m a nice girl. Unless it’s been an hour and I haven’t been able to fall asleep even though it’s nighttime. Why would you do this to me, body. (Last night was rough.)

I think that’s everything? Yeah, that’s probably everything.

-Ylimegirl

Author: Ylimegirl

Heyo, I'm Ylime/Emily, a wiki-editor and ex-author for the PHB. I enjoy watching cartoons and playing Pokéfarm Q, among other things. How to pronounce Ylime: • /i.laɪm/ (ee-lime): My preference • /waɪ.laɪm/ (why-lime): UiPE's, SF, and PC's preference • /i.lɪm.i/ (ee-lim-ee): BT's preference • /jʌ.laɪm/ (yuh-lime): Andrew's preference • /jʌ.laɪm.i/ (yuh-lime-ee): Lucky Joker's preference • /i.lɪm.ɛ/ (ee-lim-eh): True backwards™ • /waɪ ɛl aɪ ɛm i/ (why el aye em ee): True pronounciation™ • /jaɪm.li/ (yime-lee): Someone on the PHC's preference • /jɒr.laɪm/ (your-lime): TylerMaster's preference • /jɑː.laɪm/(ya-lime): Ashtonirwin's preference • /laɪm/ (lime): Red Burger's preference; TTS generated • /i.lim/ (ee-leem): Perfect Sky's preference; TTS generated • /aɪ.lɪm/ (aye-lim): TTS generated • /i.lɪm/ (ee-lim): TTS generated • /ɛ.laɪm/ (eh-lime): TTS generated (Maybe more!) I might be a robot. My profile picture is by the lovely Noveen!

Leave a Reply

